What’s In a Name?

My brother, who is a carpenter, objected somewhat to the name of my blog saying he always thought he was God’s hammer. I suppose being a bit dejected and feeling a little one upped, he signed his last email to me, “God’s Combination Square.”

So, to clarify, God’s Hammer is not a self-reference. It is the title of a collection of essays on the inspiration and infallibility of Scripture by Gordon Clark. I also thought it was an apt description of Scripture, which John Robbins reminded me was take from Jeremiah 23:29;  “Is not my word like as a fire? saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?” Of course, I’m rather partial to Hebrews 4:12 as well; “For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart.” However, when naming things the shorter drives out the longer and Hebrews 4:12, while preferable, isn’t as catchy.

gods-hammer.JPG

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “What’s In a Name?”


  1. I am a little surprised that we seem to be ignorant of not only Jeremiah 23:29:

    Is not my word like as a fire? saith the LORD; and like a hammer that breaketh the rock in pieces?

    but also LC Q112:

    Q. 112. What is required in the third commandment?
    A. The third commandment requires, That . . . the word [of God] , be holily and reverently used in thought, meditation, word, and writing. . .

    Otherwise have enjoyed your comments.
    Bob S

  2. magma2 Says:

    Yes, I had completely forgotten Jeremiah and needed a much deserved swift kick. Thanks for the correction. Dr. Robbins already called me on that as well, hence the modified post. LC 112 is good too, but without the ellipsis it’s even more of a mouth full. John 6:63 is another good verse; “It is the Spirit who gives life; the flesh profits nothing; the words that I have spoken to you are spirit and are life.” Pretty much sums up Clark’s philosophy.

    Thanks Bob. I see you have a blog site, but there’s nothing on it. Are you just starting out or taking it down?


  3. Thanks for your reply. I had forgotten about this.
    I was considering a mirror site at WordPress of the RPV sites 1&2 at Blogger. I have some comments on the Necessary Background to the Current Federal Vision Assault on Justification By Faith Alone at http://reformedveritas.blogspot.com/2007/10/federal-visions-fraudulent-version-of.html


Leave a Reply

