Prayers for John

Please pray for John, his wife Linda and the rest of his family. I just received word that John has contacted hospice and will start receiving care in his home. Tom, his son-in-law, said that John’s hope is that he would remain mentally sharp until the end. I also pray that the Lord will be merciful on him as he prepares to return home and that he might not suffer much.

“And after you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you. To Him be dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

May the Lord greatly bless his servant John Robbins in these final days and be there waiting to welcome his faithful servant into paradise. Praise be to God.

“His lord said unto him, Well done, good and faithful servant; thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.”

Explore posts in the same categories: John Robbins

7 Comments on “Prayers for John”

  1. Darrin Says:

    I was hoping the next news I heard about Dr. Robbins would be good news. I’m sorry to hear this but know the Lord has appointed our time. May he finish well.

  2. qeqesha Says:

    Dear Sean,
    I am very sad to hear this! May God give his servant peace and assurance to the end, and a crown of life as he has promised to all that love him!
    II Timothy 4:6 “For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.”
    May God give his family peace that passes all understanding!
    Denson.

  3. justbybelief Says:

    Mr Gerety,

    Thank you for informing us of this event. I am saddened by what now seems the imminent death of Dr. Robbins. Although having never met Dr. Robbins I for one grieve because death is a joyless affair and, I will miss further encouragement from him in his writings and lectures at the Trinity Foundation for which I have been eternally grateful. At the same time however, he is going to a place where there is no more spiritual warfare, heartache, suffering, and death and for this reason I do not grieve as the world grieves, and so, I am encouraged for him as he will arrive in paradise.

    We will pray according to his and your request in the hope that God our heavenly Father will graciously grant the same as we make all requests clothed with Christ’s perfect righteousness on which basis we will meet Him.

    At the risk of being forward was Dr. Robbins given a time frame?

    Thank you.

    Christopher

  4. whereisthewisdon Says:

    It is a very sad news indeed. I never met Dr. Robbins. I only corresponded with him sometime ago informing him that I translated his sermon on Justification into Indonesian and some other minor issues. But I profit from his writings and lectures I found on his site. May God grant Dr. Robbins what He sees necessary in such situation.

    Paijo

  5. jumpy66 Says:

    I stumbled on Trinity Foundation site four years ago. What I found was eye-opening, and golden mine indeed, and led me eventually to the reformed faith. I have at once loved John’s clear, simple yet profound style. Afterwards I bought books and translated some John’s articles into Italian. I never met Dr Robbins, and I would have liked to.
    This news fills me with sadness. I join to the many who pray for Him.

  6. gusg Says:

    Gus Gianello said,
    This is devastating for the visible church…what there is left of it. On the one hand I am envious that Dr. Robbins is going to rest, and have his knowledge of the truth vindicated by the Lord God of Truth, on the other hand I am terrified of what this means. When God takes away “prophets” and does not replace them with other prophetic men then it is a time of growing judgement. As Isaiah says [paraphrase] …we do not consider what it means when the righteous are taken away in death…” Amos tells us “my people perish for lack of knowledge…”. The religious world is full of fools and idiots, and MUCH of what John has written and lectured, has been borne out in my own life and that of my family’s. Everyone calls himself a Christian, yet they do not take the words of 2 Peter seriously”…if the righteous scarcely be saved, what will happen to the ungodly”. Revelation-knowledge (the only kind) is so contrary to the senses and empiricism, in a world rules by irrationalism and scientism, that it is viewed as insanity. I think that is the point of Paul in Romans 1 and 1 Cor 1-4. John Robbins was the ONLY current voice that I know of that stood for revelation-knowledge, and the sovereignty of the Word of God in knowledge acquisition. His championing of Clark in the area of epistemology could have been the foundation of the 2nd Christian Reformation, instead he and Clark were villified for their plainness and their bluntness. Their teachings and lasting legacy will stand as a testament which in future generations will condemn the 20th century as the beginning of the Second Dark Ages. Though no one knows it but God, it is still true. My prayers are for John and his family, but especially for us. When he dies, the age will get noticeably darker. But in the name of the one true mediator and Sovereign Lord, Jesus Christ, who I am just beginning to fathom, my commitment is to remain faithful to the Word of God as the only source of knowledge, wisdom and understanding, and to therefore by to the end of my days, a thorough-going and consistent Scripturalist. This is the best way to show my gratitude to God for this servant, and for the profound Gordon H. Clark. I glorify God for these gifts to his church (Eph. 4:11) and consider it a great privilege to have corresponded with John.

    And Sean, thankyou for all that you have contributed, your co-authorship of “Not Reformed at All…” has removed many cobwebs.

    Sincerely,
    Gus Gianello

  7. whereisthewisdon Says:

    Sean,
    Can you update us on the latest situation with regard John’s health situation.

    Paijo


Leave a Reply

