Meaghan Gerety

I have been debating whether or not to share this here since I like to reserve God’s Hammer for theological issues and disputes, but my 15 year old daughter was in a terrible car crash less than a minute from our home Thursday morning.  She now is fighting for her life after suffering severe head trauma to the right side of her brain.  I know I have a lot of internet brothers and sisters who read this blog so I would greatly appreciate your prayers.  The good news is is that our Lord and Savior has preserved her life so far and has not taken His child from us.   Here is a link to a story about the crash that is mostly correct.  Meaghan was not where she was supposed to be and not with whom she was supposed to be with (at least as far as her mother and I knew).  The media got some things wrong.  Meaghan is a Sophomore going to be a Junior and late last night I found out she was wearing a seat belt and that the seat belt contributed to her injuries.  The impact of the accident was on the drivers side rear door.  Meaghan’s fractured her skull on her right side.  The recoil must have driven her head into the passenger side window or door.  Please pray for my daughter.

_____________________________________________

I would also like to add that you pray for the boy who was driving the car, Carter Womick, along with his parents.  Please pray that the Lord might use this  tragedy to cause Carter and many others to come to know the unsurpassed and unmerited mercy that can be found only in Jesus Christ.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

71 Comments on “Meaghan Gerety”

  1. Travis Caka Says:

    We will be praying for the whole family

  2. Rev. Brian Carpenter Says:

    Oh gosh Sean. I am so, so sorry. We will lift up Meghan in prayer as a congregation this morning and as a family until God answers our prayers.

    Anything I could say would sound trite and hollow right now, so I’ll just say that I love you and I’m praying for you.

  3. Cliffton Says:

    While Jesus was still speaking, some men came from the house of Jairus, the synagogue ruler. “Your daughter is dead,” they said. “Why bother the teacher any more?” Ignoring what they said, Jesus told the synagogue ruler, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.”… After he put them all out, he took the child’s father and mother and the disciples who were with him, and went in where the child was. He took her by the hand and said to her, “Talitha koum!” (which means, “Little girl, I say to you, get up!”). Immediately the girl stood up and walked around (she was twelve years old).

  4. theoldadam Says:

    I’m praying for your daughter, Meaghan. And for you.

  5. Hugh McCann Says:

    Praying for you & all the family, Sean. May God sustain you and your wife at this time.

  6. Don Freeman Says:

    This is grievous news. I have prayed for your daughter and family and will continue to do so.

  7. Ryan Says:

    Praying now.


  8. My heart breaks for you all. Praying fervently for a miracle!!!

  9. Shawn McKimens Says:

    Sean,
    My daughter Kelley attended elementary and the first year of middle school with Meaghan prior to a family move to Minnesota 4 years ago. Visiting Virginia last week we were shocked to see the news story and in following up online found your blog post. We can not imagine what your family must be going through.
    Words seem to fall short but we wanted you to know that Meaghan and your entire family are being lifted up in prayer, and the chain is growing here in Minnesota.
    God is at work in the midst of this in ways we may never know. We pray there will be visible and encouraging moments that can only be explained as divinely driven; the right people placed in your paths at just the right time, a kind word from an unexpected source, a light moment in an otherwise dark place; along with the knowledge that you are not walking through this alone.

  10. David Reece Says:

    I pray that she will be well soon. My love to you and yours in Christ.

    We cannot know what events Providence has planned, but we can always know they are for His glory and His people’s good.

  11. olivianus Says:

    Just prayed for your family Sean. May God use this terrible event to stir up fear and interest of that never ending reality to come.


  12. We prayed for Meaghan this morning in worship.

    Will continue to pray.


  13. My family, church, and I are praying for you and yours. To God belongs all the power and glory. May He continue to uphold you as He has done, according to His will.

  14. gigi Says:

    prayed and will continue to do so,may the Almighty give you and your family the strength you need

  15. Ronda Rush Says:

    Thank you for deciding to share this personal need and giving Jim and I the privilege of earnestly praying with you during this terrible time.

  16. Eric and Susan Petterson Says:

    We are praying as hard as we can for your lovely daughter. It is not her time. She has too much life left to give. She is a ray of sunshine that is not yet ready to fade. She will come back brighter and stronger. I know my Lord has a plan for her and I am anxious to see her rise and do that work. Love to you and your family.

  17. Steve Matthews Says:

    Sean,
    My prayers are with Meaghan, that the Lord would preserve her life. May he comfort you and your family in this difficult time.

  18. Concerned VaBch Parent of a Teen Says:

    Praying for your family. May God give you the strength to get through this difficult time. God Bless You!!

  19. Jerry W Says:

    God bless, Sean. Our family prayed for yours in our evening worship, and especially for Meaghan.

  20. Gord Berta Says:

    Praying for your family and God’s will be done.

  21. MikeD Says:

    My dear brother,

    I am so grieved for you and your whole family will certainly be in our family’s prayers. May the Lord lift this burden from you soon and strengthen you all through it.

  22. Louis Breytenbach Says:

    Sean, we are praying now for your daughter. May the LORD keep you all and sustain you as HE always will. Our breath is in HIS hands.
    Louis and Emmerentia Breytenbach

  23. Denson Dube Says:

    Hi Sean and Tracy,
    Children are a gift from the Lord. I pray you find comfort in His word, who is faithful and will never fail you in this trying time.

  24. Bell Says:

    I am so sorry to be reading this news! A friend of mine had posted this on her FB page. Praying for your daughter for complete healing from our great Healer.

  25. Jon Evans Says:

    Just heard about your daughter Meaghan’s accident. Our family will be praying for yours, for God’s miraculous intervention in your lives and for his sustaining grace and power each day.

  26. Rachael Says:

    You and your daughter are in my prayers…

  27. Kathy Tate Says:

    Sean, Tracy, Erin and Connor,

    Through the years and across the miles, our family has so many fond memories of our times together with yours. Our hearts go out to you, and our hope and prayers are for God’s mercy and strength to comfort you.

  28. Kelli Baumert Says:

    We are sending love and prayers from Nebraska and Iowa.

  29. tara m Says:

    Sean and Tracy –

    My prayers go out to your family in this time of tragedy. I am so sorry that this has happened to you and it has hurt my heart tremendously. Many blessings to you and your family.


  30. Hallo Sean,
    It’s funny how our children can bring us the terrible heartache they do. I don’t think they mean to, but they do so, nonetheless, don’t they?

    Recently, I saw a photograph of my 37 year old son, Raymond, (he is back home in South Africa) that sent me into the depths of despair that was so great, I never thought I would ever get my head up out of it. There was really nobody with whom I could share my grief, so I sought solace in the pages of Scripture and I would like to share with you how God has brought, and is still bringing me through the tragedy of it all.

    Praise be to you, O LORD,
    God of our father Israel,
    from everlasting to everlasting.
    Yours, O LORD, is the greatness and the power
    and the glory and the majesty and the splendor,
    for everything in heaven and earth is yours.
    Yours, O LORD, is the kingdom;
    you are exalted as head over all.
    Wealth and honor come from you;
    you are the ruler of all things.
    In your hands are strength and power
    to exalt and give strength to all.
    Now, our God, we give you thanks,
    and praise your glorious name.
    (1 Chronicles 29:10-13 NIV)

    Do we take the bad with the good, Sean, and not praise Him?

    “For thy Maker is thine husband; the LORD of hosts is his name; and thy Redeemer the Holy One of Israel; The God of the whole earth shall he be called. For the LORD hath called thee as a woman forsaken and grieved in spirit…” (Isaiah 54:5-6a)

    We who are known of Christ can do no other than to hold fast to the promises of God in Christ Jesus. From thence comes all our comfort.

    “When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.” (Isaiah 43:2)

    I would like to share two songs with you, that I have made into videos. I hope you won’t mind me posting them here. It is only my prayer they will help bring yourself and your wife the comfort you need in your time of trial – as they have done for me on many an ocassion since I got saved.

    “The LORD bless thee, and keep thee:The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.” (Numbers 6:24-26)

    My love to you both, in Christ.


  31. Sean,
    The same video posted twice. Here is the second one.

  32. LJ Says:

    Our church prayed for Meaghan and her Mom and Dad on the Lord’s Day. Bless your heart Sean.

    LJ

  33. Vanessa Cooper Says:

    Sean,

    I don’t know if you remember me my name is Vanessa Cooper. I worked in the “Tour” dept at NRTWC back in the late 90’s. I am praying for your daughter and feel terrible this has happened to your family. Love and prayers to your family.

    Vanessa


  34. Sean, I just read about your daughter this morning on facebook. I am so sorry to hear of her accident. Eddie and I are praying for her complete healing and strength for your family. Nicole & Eddie Duckworth

  35. Steve M Says:

    Sean, I have been praying for your family and will continue to do so. Please let me know if there is any way other than prayer that I might help. Please let us all know if there is any change in Meaghan’s condition. I pray that it will be for the better.

  36. Ali Says:

    Prayers here in Poplar Grove for Meaghan and your family. May His Holy Spirit bless, guide and comfort you. Praying for healing for Meaghan. XO


  37. Dear Sean:

    – Meaghan, you and your family will be in my prayers.

    – So will be the Womick family.

    God bless.

    Benjamin Wong

  38. Joth Says:

    Sean,
    The Lord has blessed me with three beautiful daughters and a son. The news of your daughter really hits home. I am praying that our Mighty God will be pleased to give complete healing. He is not overwhelmed.

  39. John Says:

    Sean,
    The Lord has blessed me with three beautiful daughters and a son. The news of your daughter really hits home. I am praying that our Mighty God will be pleased to give complete healing. He is not overwhelmed.

    Sorry for the typo.
    John


  40. Sir,
    I do not know your daughter, but I’m a teacher at her school. I know quite a few of her friends. I also know Carter. He was my student when he was a sophomore.

    I found out about the accident from school personnel on Friday morning, and have been praying for you, your family, and your daughter. I have also been praying for the Womicks. My 3-year-old daughter noticed I was sad on Friday afternoon and I explained to her what happened in terms appropriate for a toddler. She has also been praying for Meaghan.

    I have been checking the news every day with the hopes that there is a report that Meaghan has opened her eyes. I came across your blog while doing my search today.

    Thank you, sir, for posting about Meaghan. Thank you, especially, for being a good and true Christian by asking that we pray for Carter. I hope your daughter recuperates soon, and am hoping for only good news.

    God bless you and your family.
    Sincerely,
    Teresa Ripoll

  41. Stephanie Gruning Says:

    Hi Sean
    My daughter Veronica is a rising 10th grader at Salem HS and while I don’t know Meaghan or you personally, you have all been in our prayers. My heart breaks for your family going through this, but know that you are not alone spiritually. Our lord and savior Jesus Christ will hear and answer all our prayers for your darling Meaghan and bring her home to you and your wife. I pray that her tragedy will help save somone else from having to go through this path you are on. Please keep us posted on how she is progressing, and I will continue to pray for all of you and Carter and his family also.
    Stephanie Gruning

  42. Tracy Henning Says:

    Your faith and grace inspire me. As they have since that terrible phone call, our prayers are with Meaghan and all the Gerety’s and I truly believe they will be answered. Take care and God bless.

    Tracy H

  43. Andy Gilman Says:

    Dear Sean,

    I’m praying that our almighty and merciful God will heal your Meaghan, and will comfort you and your wife during this fearful time.

    Andy

  44. Sean Gerety Says:

    Thank you all for your prayers and concerns. My wife Tracy and I are still very much still in shock as the weight and magnitude of what has happened still hasn’t hit us. This is our worst nightmare.

    In order to provide updates for family and friends on Meaghan’s situation I created Hope for Meaghan.

  45. Nate Blake Says:

    Sean, so touched by all the pouring out of love and faith as everyone looks for an answer and healing of your daughter. I’m sure so much more is yet to come and I along with our Sunday School class will be praying along side all these others for you and your daughter. My kids have been where they weren’t supposed to be at times to but I guess all of us at sometime or another have snuck out on mom and dad ourselves back in the day, I guess we’ve been lucky so far around here, but as for me, I believe everything happens for a reason and so far, anyone can see and feel the love of God through your friends and family and all their support at this time. Hang in there, let God do His work and His will and hopefully, your daughter will be home soon. I’ll be praying as much as possible for your daughter’s speedy recovery as well as praying for you and your wife and family, Nate

  46. Linda Robbins Says:

    My heart is heavy for you, may God bless you both with grace and peace. It is so hard when we watch those we love suffer. Praying for your daughter and you.

  47. kushisaac Says:

    Sean and family, praying for your daughter and for you and your family. May God restore Meaghan to you and your wife.

  48. Joe Says:

    You and your family will certainly be in my praryers, Sean. God bless.

  49. Mark Says:

    So so sorry to hear of this brother. We are praying to our Lord for your family and especially your daughter…Mark and Alison Farnon


  50. Dear Father in Heaven:

    We pray for Meaghan. Please heal her. Please deliver her from all her all health problems. Just this morning, I was reminded and encouraged: “Many are the afflictions of the righteous, But the Lord delivers him out of them all.” Psalm 34:19.

    Please also comfort Meaghan, Sean, and the rest of their family. Please give them peace and sound mind to rest and to do as they should. May they believe in You and Your faithful care of them more strongly and feel Your presence more closely.

    Please give them all the grace that they need to get through this minute, this hour, this day, this week, this month, and this year. In Jesus’ name, we pray. Amen.

  51. Debbie Says:

    Sean,

    I am a friend of Larry Jones here in California and am praying for God to do miracle. As one person has already stated, “Your faith and grace inspire me”
    I will be attending a bible study tomorrow of over 70 women and will have them join me in prayer for Meaghan.

  52. Pht Says:

    … obviously, prayers for everyone involved have have already been offered by myself!

    My father had a *severe* TBI about three years ago (suffice to say, it was so bad that it makes Gifford’s TBI look like a walk in the park and he *has not recovered much…); I have some feeling for what you might be going through in the hospital and such… I won’t pretend I know how it feels for you to have this happen to your daughter…

    Please know, that even if there is no light at the end of the tunnel in this life, and everything seems black – our Sovereign God is working for the good of his own… even when we kick and scream in God’s hand. Believe me, I’ve had some seriously black days – I know this from experience! We may hurt so bad we want to get away from God on some level (yes, We can hurt that bad – psalms 88)… but God will never let you go.

    I don’t know your RL situation, but you NEED to have someone to advocate and watch over your daughter as much as you possibly can at the hospital at ALL times. The health care industry is NOT what it should or even used to be!

    Barring a miracle (and I sincerely hope God’s plan in your life does not involve much hardship!) you are in for a long haul…

  53. Sean Gerety Says:

    Thank you all for your prayers and concerns. My wife Tracy and I are still very much in shock and the weight and magnitude of what has happened still hasn’t hit us. This is our worst nightmare.

    In order to provide updates for family and friends on Meaghan’s situation I created Hope for Meaghan. http://meaghangerety.wordpress.com/

  54. Sean Gerety Says:

    Pht, I’m so sorry for your father and I agree with your post. It is starting to sink in that we’re in for a long haul. OTOH, I’m told by Meg’s neurosurgeon, who is excellent (God has blessed us with wonderful doctors and nurses), that the advantage Meg has over other similar types of injuries is her age. As for dark days, I got a taste of one of those last night. Thankfully, this morning the two passages I’ve been resting on and the only reason I can still breath are:

    Mathew 10:29: Are not two sparrows sold for a copper coin? And not one of them falls to the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.

    and,

    Romans 9:20ff: You will say to me then, “Why does He still find fault? For who has resisted His will?” But indeed, O man, who are you to reply against God? Will the thing formed say to him who formed it, “Why have you made me like this?” Does not the potter have power over the clay, from the same lump to make one vessel for honor and another for dishonor? What if God, wanting to show His wrath and to make His power known, endured with much longsuffering the vessels of wrath prepared for destruction, and that He might make known the riches of His glory on the vessels of mercy, which He had prepared beforehand for glory, even us whom He called….

  55. Pht Says:

    Sean, it sounds like you are beginning to bump into what I have called the “golden trap” – no matter how horrible things are, we worship a good God, and we just can’t get away from it! 🙂

    It might seem odd. But Job 38 actually gave (and still does) give me comfort. We do not worship a small God! It seems harsh, perhaps, but it really helped my soul. It’s amazing how we try to box God up, especially when he doesn’t “perform” on cue to give us a miracle – knowing that God can use even the most trying situation to do good helps. (the cross, anyone?)

    For instance, my pastor had one of those mind blowing miracles – he had a stroke – the worst you can have short of dying – he lost his sight and ability to walk – he told his wife “we worship a living God” – three days later he walked out of the hospital completely cured. It blew the medical people’s minds so badly they listed that he had only had the “lightest” form of stroke… but the records that were filed don’t lie (besides which, I visited him on my dad’s floor in the hospital at the time).

  56. Coram Deo Says:

    The DefCon blog team is on board and in prayer with you and yours, brother. To God be the glory, great things He hath done!

    In Him,
    CD

  57. Hugh McCann Says:

    Excerpt from ‘The Order for the Visitation of the Sick’ {1928 Book of Common Prayer}

    Antiphon. I have considered the days of old; And the years that are past.

    Voce mea ad Dominum. Psalm lxxvii.

    I WILL cry unto God with my voice; even unto God will I cry with my voice, and he shall hearken unto me.
    In the time of my trouble I sought the Lord: I stretched forth my hands unto him, and ceased not in the night season; my soul refused comfort.
    When I am in heaviness, I will think upon God; when my heart is vexed, I will complain.
    Thou holdest mine eyes waking: I am so feeble that I cannot speak.
    I have considered the days of old, and the years that are past.
    I call to remembrance my song, and in the night I commune with mine own heart, and search out my spirit.
    Will the Lord absent himself for ever? and will he be no more intreated?
    Is his mercy clean gone for ever? and is his promise come utterly to an end for evermore?
    Hath God forgotten to be gracious? and will he shut up his loving-kindness in displeasure?
    And I said, It is mine own infirmity; but I will remember the years of the right hand of the Most Highest.

    The Collect.

    HEAR, O Lord, we beseech thee, these our prayers, as we call upon thee on behalf of this thy servant; and bestow upon her the help of thy merciful consolation; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

  58. Eric F. Says:

    I just heard this terrible news. I will keep your family in my thoughts and prayers. I am so sorry, Sean.

  59. Jeff Says:

    Sean, my heart aches for you and your family. God’s providences are not always easy to bear and such trials as these help to remind us that this world is not our home. Please continue to fight the good fight. I’m praying that your beautiful daughter will be restored to your family.

  60. cranmer1959 Says:

    So sorry to hear about this, Sean. May God grant you and your family the peace that passes all understanding during this trial of your faith.

    Charlie

  61. Mark Says:

    Sean,

    I will continue to pray for Meghan, you, and your family.

    My cousin was in a coma for a few weeks. After his recovery (which was an almost full recovery), he told that he has one recollection from the time of his coma. He told me that somehow he was aware that people were praying for him and it gave him comfort. Hopefully, Meghan is feeling the same comfort from the prayers of believers.

  62. maryann tobin Says:

    I can only imagine your pain. I lost my husband and best friend in Jan of this year from a negative rod sepsus virus……no one knows where or how he cotracted it but after six weeks in intensive care he passed away. It is the hardest road one will ever have to walk and I never thought it would happpen to us ( my husband was a young man) and we have no children. But faith in the Lord in awesome and the strength He gives us is beyond our comprehension. I will forever miss John and never knew I had so many tears to cry but we do go on…with the help of the Lord. I pray your days in the ICU are not in vain and that your daughter will not only get stronger in body but also in spirit. Stay strong and remember there is power in prayer and you have so many prayers being prayed for you. I will hold you in my heart as the Lord will hold you in the palms of His hands! God bless.

  63. ray kikkert Says:

    Dear Sean … may the Lord sustain your family … I cannot begin to know what you go through right now … but to meditate/family devotions from the book of Job … is wise advice … knowing our only comfort in body and soul, in life or death … is that we belong to our faithful Saviour Jesus Christ.
    “The LORD bless thee, and keep thee:The LORD make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: The LORD lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace.”

    Your family is within our family devotions Sean … picture a big man hug and teary eyes Sean …coming straight from Ontario, Canada … and away with the likes of Job’s 3 friends supposed comfort.


  64. […] is the 15 year old daughter of the blogger of God’s Hammer. She was in a horrifying car crash which left her suffering from severe head trauma to the right […]

  65. Michelle Bellew Says:

    I can not begin to imagine what you are going through. We will keep your family in our thoughts and prayers.

    Michelle & Jeff Bellew

  66. Rusty Nix Says:

    Sean and family,
    Meaghan and your entire family are in my thoughts and prayers. I just heard of this today in the news paper. This hits very close to home for me. My name is Rusty Nix, I too suffered a TBI back on 1-22-06 when I was 25. I have since made a full and miraculous recovery. I don’t know what it is like to go through what you are going through because I never saw it from your perspective. I have however been in her shoes before. What I remember of it was very tough.
    It appears that she has a great support system working in her favor. My doctors and nurses said that the support system that I had was a big part of my recovery.
    I saw where you were talking about rehab facilities. You mentioned some in Atlanta and one in Richmond. May I suggest going to check them out before picking one for her. My parents went to several including one in Richmond before picking one for me. I went to Riverside Rehabilitation in Newport News. It was recommended by a friend who also sustained a TBI many years ago. Riverside is an excellent facility. I spent 6 weeks there and could not be happier with the treatment that I received.
    I will keep Meaghan and your family in my thoughts and prayers. If you have any questions that I may be able to answer or if there is anything that I can do for you please let me know. My email is rustycnix@gmail.com

  67. Jordan Says:

    Jerry Jordan’s Jelly Jar is full of love and prayers for Meaghan and the Gerety clan.

  68. Sean Gerety Says:

    Jordan!! Great to hear from you. Erin is coming in tonight.

  69. Gus Gianello Says:

    Dear Sean,
    I am so sorry to hear about your daughter. My family will be praying for her, and your family. Ironically, this is the same day I had my major heart attack. Please send me an email and let me know how she is doing.

    Gus

  70. Lauren Says:

    Praying.


Leave a Reply

