When Doug Wrote To My Father

wilsonWhen it comes to Wilson, it just keeps getting worse. Make sure you read the letter Wilson wrote this poor girl’s father. The man is a incorrigible pig. The damage Wilson leaves in his fat wake is simply heartbreaking:

http://natalierose-livewithpassion.blogspot.com/2015/09/when-doug-wrote-to-my-father.html?m=1

Explore posts in the same categories: Doug Wilson, Heresies

9 Comments on “When Doug Wrote To My Father”

  1. Jon Volkoff Says:

    I’m scratching my head wondering why Wilson and the Christ Church session thought it was a good idea to consider suspending the victim’s father, of all people, from the Lord’s Supper. Frankly, I can’t think of a good reason for it, unless it’s as you say: Wilson and Co. were bending over backwards to cover for gross public sinners.

  2. Sean Gerety Says:

    Wilson has continued his threats on his blog. He wrote this in response to a post linked to Wilson’s blog raising the same sort of questions (http://kbotkin.com/2015/09/10/the-letter-on-christ-church-stationary/ ):

    Douglas Wilson Mod • 2 days ago

    Sarah Anne, I tried to reply at that blog but could not. I will say it here. She says that Gary and Natalie both gave permission to print that letter. If she posted that in writing, with permission from Gary, Pat, and Natalie for me to answer questions about the letter, I would be happy to do so. Delighted in fact. Just be prepared — it will shut down the party, which you might not want.

    Wilson’s threatens to “shut the party down” again insinuating that Gary, Natalie’s father, bears responsibility for the abuse of his child. The interesting thing is that Natalie’s parents are divorced and her mother and another sibling are sill members of Wilson’s cult. Here’s is Natalie’s response to Wilson posted on Wilson’s blog:

    Natalie Rose Greenfield Douglas Wilson • 2 days ago

    Doug, this is Natalie. I’m not sure why you were unable to reply on my blog post. I don’t screen the comments first so anyone should be able to post on there.

    Anyhow, I’ve spoken with both of my parents this morning concerning this particular comment of yours and I truly cannot imagine what information you could possibly have about my family that could ‘shut down the party’. Regardless, and to respect my mother’s wishes for privacy, you won’t be getting that permission anytime soon and I think you probably already know that. I’ll call your bluff on this one.

    Additionally, I would like you to know that many people within your church as well as people who have peaceably left the church, have written letters of sincere apology to my family for the way the situation was handled, for trusting the wrong person, for defending the wrong person, for allowing themselves to be fooled by a dangerous criminal. There is some real, healthy discussion happening about how churches can better handle sexual abuse, and it’s so encouraging. Some of these individuals are even former pastors and elders of Christ Church/Trinity. It speaks volumes for their character and did a great deal toward healing our wounds.

    Sincerely,
    Natalie

    A little later on she writes when a Wilson troll pressed her on the meaning of her saying “I’ll call your bluff on this one”:

    I mean that I don’t believe he has any information which would make people believe my father was to blame. I believe he already knows that my mother, a member at his church and in good standing with the leadership, does not wish to have publicity of any sort. Doing so without her permission would surely disrespect her and drive her away. His is an empty threat meant to intimidate, and I know that for a fact.

    Wilson is a vile bully. Given the fact that he is a false teacher under Paul’s anathema (Gal 1:8) I suppose no one should be surprised by his behavior.

  3. Jon Volkoff Says:

    I guess the doctrine of justification by faith and works does not lead to increased holiness, does it?

  4. Sean Gerety Says:

    Funny how that works.

    Check out this post from Natalie’s father Gary and Wilson’s response (again with the veiled threats): http://dougwils.com/s7-engaging-the-culture/the-only-kind-of-gospel-there-is.html#comment-2250446798

    gary greenfield • 2 days ago

    I can also say with all conviction of heart that my wife and I did the very best we knew how to raise up our children in the ways of the Lord. Were we perfect in doing so, of course not, but I can say with all confidence that we gave our hearts, minds and souls to taking care of our children, to giving them childhoods with rich and fun memories while making every effort to protect them from the pitfalls and dangers of this broken world. We even homeschooled our kids because we wanted to protect them from the evils of the world, yet ironically, the evils of the world found their way into the bedroom of my teenage daughter. Even now as I contemplate what took place only feet from our bedroom, the tears flow from my eyes and my breaths become gasps of grief and I mourn and lament, knowing that my daughter will have live with such filthy memories from her youth. I know what she’s going through because I’ve been there and I’ve lived through it. It was different though for her, because when she finally told us what had been occurring within our home, we believed her, we embraced her, we loved her, we supported and we grieved with her. That was something I never experienced as a little boy who was sexually abused. Nobody comforted me, nobody helped me work through, nobody believed me and now as I share what I’ve never shared with anyone, the tears flow and my heart is sad, yet, I know with all confidence that ever since I was a little innocent boy, even though my own parents couldn’t care for the wounds inflicted by my perverted uncle, I know God did and has and will continue to heal my wounds and take care of me until the day I pass from this life to next and even into all eternity and He will make all things new again. tbc

    Douglas Wilson Mod 2 days ago

    Gary, you are welcome to tell this story here, and I appreciate the calm way you are approaching it. I am very sorry for the grief you have gone through. But please keep in mind that you are getting to the parts where I will not be able to explain our actions in response to what happened. I would be willing to do this if the affected members of the Greenfield family all agreed to let me answer questions about it. But since that is not in the cards right now, I will be remaining silent. But please know that my silence is not convenient for me, quite the reverse.

  5. Carmen S. Says:

    Wilson has deleted all comments on posts from Sept.15th and prior.

  6. Lauren Kuo Says:

    A false gospel definitely leaves a trail of tears and brokenness, doesn’t it? Very sad to read this. Brings back many tragic memories of the lives of the young people in our former church. Church leaders who lust after power over their congregants, lose the ability to love as Jesus loved. And, where there is no truth, there will be no love. My prayer for Natalie and her family is that they would no longer rely on church hierarchy as their source of truth but rather eagerly examine the Scriptures daily for themselves. For the truth will set you free.

  7. EJ Says:

    I diagree with Wilson and the session considering suspending Gary from the Lord’s Table. However, they were absolutely right to admonish him. He willingingly allowed a young man to board in their house even after he knew the man was interested in his teenage daughter.

  8. Sean Gerety Says:

    1) How do you know that Gary knew Wight was “interested” in his daughter? 2) Even if true, how does that justify Wight’s sexual abuse of Gary’s daughter?


Leave a Reply

